PDA

View Full Version : Question about Holyhope mod


Justandius
08-02-2007, 05:24 AM
Today there is a new version of this mod up. I personally love the mod and was excited to see an update. When I went to download the update I noticed it was on a new mod listing. This didn't throw up any serious red flags yet, but I then noticed the person who posted it wasn't the same as the author I remember writing it.
New listing:
http://ui.worldofwar.net/ui.php?id=4007

Old listing:
http://ui.worldofwar.net/ui.php?id=3862

From the Author's site:
http://thehorde.free.fr/viewtopic.php?t=446

The author is only showing version 2.5 as his latest version, and now there is an updated version on this site from someone other than the original author that is a day one poster.

Am I making too much from this? Or do I have cause to be alarmed, and not download the updated mod?

Thanks,

Justandius
08-02-2007, 05:25 AM
And of course by not paying attention I posted this in the wrong forum. >_>

Narak
08-02-2007, 09:29 AM
According to the comments, this is a virus and shouldn't be used.

Xinh
08-02-2007, 10:08 AM
That version of HolyHope has the Win32:Small-DRG packaged in it. Avoid it like the plague.

In general, be very suspicious of mods that are not posted by their original author. Your caution has possibly saved you from the headache of cleaning your system and possible item/gold theft.

Justandius
08-02-2007, 03:42 PM
According to the comments, this is a virus and shouldn't be used.

That would have been added after I made this thread. But my question was answered anway, so thank you. ^_^