View Full Version : Beware
Urbanink
10-06-2007, 10:56 PM
got a PM by this tool : colmkewl
"theres a guide on the official wow website about how to get to and from places quickly: https://www.worldofwarcraft.com/login/login?service=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.worldofwarcraft.co m%2Faccount%2Findex.html"
takes u to a BS WOW "Official login"
Caderbery
11-06-2007, 12:37 AM
So why post it hear? you should of just forwarded it to a mod/admin and let them deal with it rather than posting it to let the community see it
So why post it hear? you should of just forwarded it to a mod/admin and let them deal with it rather than posting it to let the community see it
Uhm... because he wants to warn us about it? So that if we get a similar /tell then we'll already have the heads-up about it?
Jeez... some people...
Caderbery
11-06-2007, 10:36 PM
Uhm... because he wants to warn us about it? So that if we get a similar /tell then we'll already have the heads-up about it?
Jeez... some people...
You mean people actually click on links that random people send you, even if they dont now what it is?
IRPander
12-06-2007, 12:07 AM
You mean people actually click on links that random people send you, even if they dont now what it is?
There's nothing wrong with being helpful, which is what he did. I'm glad he did it, and this could possibly help tons of people out considering that most of the people who look at this site only lurk and don't post anything.
Skahr
12-06-2007, 12:12 AM
Thank you kind sir for the heads up. It is much appreciated by ALL of the members here at WWN.
Xlorep DarkHelm
12-06-2007, 12:51 AM
Aye, appreciate the headsup.
AeroJonesy
12-06-2007, 02:46 AM
I'm pretty sure it's part of the official WoW site, but I don't know where it takes you, and I'm not about to find out. But if you hack the crap off the end of the URL, and just leave the official address, it still takes you to the same site.
Ramas
12-06-2007, 06:47 AM
I'm pretty sure it's part of the official WoW site, but I don't know where it takes you, and I'm not about to find out. But if you hack the crap off the end of the URL, and just leave the official address, it still takes you to the same site.
I am not so sure of that.
I think it is possible to hide an other url in that link as a sort of redirect, so it takes you to another location.
Tanitha
12-06-2007, 07:09 AM
Both URLs in that link refer to www.worldofwarcraft.com. One is admittedly https, but the domain lookup will still return one of the Blizzard servers. It would be interesting to see the full text of the original PM.
Xlorep DarkHelm
12-06-2007, 07:38 AM
I am not so sure of that.
I think it is possible to hide an other url in that link as a sort of redirect, so it takes you to another location.
Only if you've hacked the official site.
odinsnephew
12-06-2007, 12:09 PM
It seems to be something to do with post #5 in this thread,
http://wow.incgamers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=397706
But Urbanink isnt in that thread so I dont know why you recieved the PM mate!
Urbanink
12-06-2007, 10:35 PM
lol after i got burned i forgot about this thread,figured some people would appreciate it.Full PM was >>>
" theres a guide on the official wow website about how to get to and from places quickly: https://www.worldofwarcraft.com/login/login?service=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.worldofwarcraft.co m%2Faccount%2Findex.html"
I clicked it cause there are alot of cool people on this forum, figured it was a helpful PM.But i aint no sucka and the url it takes u to is whack.
Plus im on the work PC soooo :laugh:
Valas Azuviir
12-06-2007, 10:57 PM
For the record, this type of stuff, we'd appreciate it if you forward an offending PM to one of us Mods, though in this case, considering the techy nature, the bossman aka Rushster might be better.
Has a better grasp of websites and what not than I do anyway.
If, it's bad, then folks get nuked. If not, then we tend to give folks the heads up that all is well.
bwirum
13-06-2007, 08:05 AM
There's nothing whack about the site that link takes you to. It's going to www.worldofwarcraft.com, account login page. Why he'd want to send you there, I dunno... but it's still not whack.
Underling
13-06-2007, 10:23 AM
For the last couple of days whenever I've been trying to connect to this site, I would fail and my Norton AV would warn me of an attempted attack on my PC
Today is the first day it seems to be working fine
amgyn
13-06-2007, 10:42 AM
maybe he has a trojan on your computer and wants you to log in via Iexplorer so he could steal your info?
or maybe he is wack.
Ithilkir
13-06-2007, 10:50 AM
There's nothing whack about the site that link takes you to. It's going to www.worldofwarcraft.com, account login page. Why he'd want to send you there, I dunno... but it's still not whack.If the OP has just done a copy/pase of the PM then the shown web address will automatically convert to a hyperlink. The original PM probably sent you to a different site but we dont see that since the copy/paste will have removed the offending URL.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.