PDA

View Full Version : Wrath of the Lich King going under beta test?


Gremple
20-10-2007, 04:35 AM
Rumor has it that random accounts have been selected to test in some way (im not sure how) the new expansion for wow. You can find out on your account management page.

login and check:
Fake URL deleted - snowieken

Here's what its supposed to look like if you were chosen:

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/9913/uploadbn6.jpg

I didnt get one :( but hopefully you guys will.

tagkc
20-10-2007, 04:44 AM
I hope no one falls for this

Xlorep DarkHelm
20-10-2007, 04:53 AM
This: Link is not active, but it doesn't feel right to keep the url here - snowieken
Is *not* a Blizzard address.

/reported.

Polaba
20-10-2007, 05:55 AM
Wow this is one of the most convincing one I've ever seen (is it a fake?).

I'm afraid to click though.

...I don't think it is. Gremple has other posts on a couple threads, maybe the "s" is just a typo. That is a pretty official looking Blizz web page.

det
20-10-2007, 10:18 AM
Please, Polaba...if you even just hover over the link, it leads to another site than the one mentioned. It is a cheat. The OP is a bastard. Ban him.

They always come out of their slimy caves on weekends. If there is a beta test, the mods or blizz will tell us.

snowieken
20-10-2007, 10:39 AM
Keeping this thread alive just to warn people that you should always hover the link before clicking it. The link led to a fake account management login page, when I entered some account details ("Doyouthink", "wearethatstupid") there was a message saying there was an error with my login and I should try again later. In the mean time, my fake account details were sent somewhere else...

I have to admit this can be very convincing, but anything can be done with a bit of Photoshop skills. In fact, it's just as easy to do as it is convincing for the non suspecting players out there.

So, be careful at all times and note that, whenever beta signups start for WotLK, it will be announced on Blizzard's website (and of course this one as well).

(Now I hope there really isn't someone out there with the account "Doyouthink" and the password "wearethatstupid", or I might screwed him over. :grin:)

Twoflower
20-10-2007, 03:12 PM
right klick link - properties.

Gormidan
20-10-2007, 05:12 PM
To: Gremple -

I want to slam a 20 pound sledgehammer on your hands.

Kalos
20-10-2007, 07:11 PM
Once again, opening the picture in Notepad reveals the "Adobe Photoshop CS3" watermark, in that this picture is not a simple screenshot, but run through a pretty expensive and advanced image manipulating program. It's an obvious fake, if you know how to check (E.G. Save the picture, and open with Notepad).